Press "Enter" to skip to content

Student Assistantships

Overview

For many MPP students, the financial aid package includes a commitment to serve as a Teaching Assistant (TA), Research Assistant (RA), or Graduate Assistant (GA) while studying here.

As a TA, RA, or GA you are expected to maintain the highest levels of professional and ethical standards. All teaching, research, and graduate assistants with access to student “education records,” including personal data, test scores and other academic performance information, must comply with guidelines of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), available for review here.

TA/RA/GAs at the Sanford School is expected to work an average of 10-12 hours per week.  Assistants will be formally evaluated at the end of each semester. The results of these evaluations will help us monitor and improve the assistantship system.

Important Assistantship Dates

  • January 5, 2022: Start of Spring 2022 semester/start of Spring 2022 assistantships
  • April 30, 2022: End of Spring 2022 final exams/end of Spring 2022 assistantships

Copying: Your faculty or staff assistantship supervisor should provide you with a copy card to use for assistantship copying purposes. Please use the copy machines in the Sanford Building, rooms 133 and 223D, or in Rubenstein Hall, rooms 104, 195, 205 and 285. If you need technical assistance with the Sanford copiers, or if you find one broken beyond your capabilities, please contact our Sanford Building Manager, Khalil Nasir [khalil.nasir@duke.edu], immediately so a repair request can be placed.

Copy Cards: See Belinda Keith [belinda.keith@duke.edu] in Room 121 Sanford if your professor does not provide you with one. Please return copy cards to Belinda at the end of the semester.

Room Reservations: To reserve space in Sanford, please utilize the 25Live system. For emergency room reservation needs, please contact Victoria Pearce[victoria.pearce@duke.edu]. Study/Bubble Rooms may NOT be used for TA Office Hours.

AV and Equipment Needs: For information on availability and use of audio/visual devices, contact Emily Totherow [emily.totherow@duke.edu] or 919-613-9269; Rubenstein 295.

Troubleshooting; contact the following people if you have problems with:

  • Copy Machines: Khalil Nasir, [khalil.nasir@duke.edu]
  • Copy Cards: Belinda Keith, 919-613-7308, [belinda.keith@duke.edu]
  • Mail/Express Delivery Vendors: Belinda Keith, 919-613-7308, [belinda.keith@duke.edu]
  • Building/Room Maintenance: Khalil Nasir, [khalil.nasir@duke.edu]
  • Payroll: Nancy Shaw, 919-613-7316, [nancy.shaw@duke.edu]
  • General Concerns: Belen Gebremichael, 919-613-9207, [belen.gebremichael@duke.edu]
  • Academic Issues: DGS Ken Rogerson, 919-613-7387, [rogerson@duke.edu]